Leixlip Town FC
Club History
Latest News
Contact Us
Match Reports
LFA Shield Photo's
Club History
History Part 2
Fans Forum

Below is a brief History of Leixlip Town Football Club from our humble beginnings in 1991 to the humble present of 2003.

How it all started

Formed in 1991 as AFC Liffeybank by four friends, Peter Connolly, Tony Flattery, John Kenny and Jim Keating in the County Bar, Lucan.
The club entered one team in the Leinster Junior League Division 3B. No manager was appointed but a strict rotation system of the 19 players that signed was used, this often led to the best players not getting a game however fun and recreation were the order of the day.
Liffeybank's first league game was played on the 22th.August 1991 against Blue Celtic(Allenwood Celtic now) and it resulted in a 1:0 win with Stephen Heffernan getting the clubs first competitive goal after 85 minutes in Griffeen Park, Lucan. Liffeybank went on to finish midtable that season but as news spread that Leixlip had a new club more interest was shown so much so that six weeks into the new season a second team was formed. Because the first team had already started their league campaign in Division 3B(lowest league) the club found itself in the unusual position of having it's second team playing in a higher Division(Div.3A). Both teams had good success, the second's finished a respecful midtable while the first's reached a league play-off against Moorfield Rangers from Clondalkin. This match however didn't go well losing 5:1. The first's also reached the semi-final of the Conway Cup before going out to St.Vincents. 1993/94 season saw big changes as the club seccured a pitch in Leixlip owned by Intel. The first's had been promoted to Division 2A where they finished midtable while the second's finished in 4th. place in Division 3A.
 1994/95 saw the formation of the Kildare League when clubs from all over the County broke away from the leagues they where playing in, most had been in the Leinster Junior League with AFC Liffeybank. Liffeybank themselves left but joined the Leinster Senior League and also changed their name to Intel Liffeybank as they had a high number of Intel employees playing with them. The club ran 3 teams that season in Divisions 2, 3 and 3B Sunday. It was not however a happy season with all 3 teams failing to make an impression and a bit of friction between the Intel players in the second team and the rest of the club. Both sides came to an agreement that they would split with the second side staying in the LSL as Intel Utd. and the first and third sides leaving to join the Kildare League as Leixlip Town FC. Both sides have since won a lot of silverware but it was Intel Utd. who seen success first, moving up the Divisions in the LSL till this season they are challanging for honours in the Major 1 Division Sunday as Lucan Utd. having earlier changing their name to Intel Lucan. The 1995/96 season saw Leixlip Town's facing new challanges and teams that they had never played before as its three sides entered Divisions 2, 3 and Youth section of the Kildare League. Both sides finished midtable but made no progress in any of the Cups. 1996/97 was a difficult year for the club as in January with the first team struggling in Division 2, it was decided to pull this side out of the Division even though there wasn't really much chance of being relagated and pool the playing resources with the second side in Division 3 who were short of players, the influx of some good players into the Div.3 side led to a revival of fortunes with the club moving up the table to finish fifth. Jim Keating the last of the founders left for America and a new managerial team of Vinnie McLouchlin and Damian Brosnan brought new energy to the club.
1997/98 saw the league restructured with Division 3 and 3A spliting into Divisions 3 and 4. For some unknown reason Leixlip who now only had one team found themselves in Div.4 but they went through the season unbeaten in the league to win their first title and also reached the final of the Republic of Ireland Supporters Club Cup before unluckily losing 1:0 to Clane Utd.
1998/99 saw a change of Manager when Mick Donohue took over from Vinnie McLoughlin who became tresurure. Mick was again to bring a title to the club when Div.3 was won with only one defeat all season, the Rep.of Ire Cup however still eluded them when Athy Town won 5:4 on penalties in the semi-final.
1999/2000 saw the club entering two sides again when a club formed by employees of Hewlett Packard who had been playing as Liffey Park Hibs amalgamated with the Town. The first's finished 3rd. in Division 2 but got promoted after a Play-off win against Straffan FC while the seconds finished 5th. in Div.4. At the end of the season Leixlip Town FC headed for the European Mainland and Antwerp to play in the St.Leonards Cup against teams from all over Europe, although soccer was only secondry to having a good time after a long season the club still managed to reach the Quarter-finals.
2000/01 had the club playing in its highest Division yet however some good close season signings by Mick Donohue saw Leixlip Town storming in Div.1 winning by 15pts. from Kilcock Celtic. This side again headed for Antwerp but this time won the St.Leonards Cup beating teams from Germany, England, Switzerland, France and Holland to set the club up for a good close season and entry into the Kildare League Senior Division.

The History of the Club is continued in History 2 on the navigation bar.
If anybody out there wants to send in any stories or rememberences from our days gone by we will be happy to publish them.


Year Formed:  1991
Previous Names:  AFC Liffeybank 1991-94, Intel Liffeybank 1994-95, Leixlip Town 1995 -
Club Colours:  Yellow Jersey's, Blue Shorts, Yellow Socks.
2nd. Strip Blue Jersey's with Yellow Hoop, Blue shorts, Blue socks
3rd. Strip:  Green & White Hoops, Black Shorts, Green Socks.
Previous Grounds.
Griffeen Park, Lucan. 1991-93.
Kellystown Lane 1993/94.
Collinstown Park Leixlip 1994/95.
Colaiste Chiarain 1995-2001.
Hewlett Packard Sports Ground 2001-to date.

1993 LJ League Div.3B R-up. Conway Cup Semi-finalists
1998 Kildare League Div.4 Winners, Rep.of Ire Cup R-up.
1999 Kildare League Div.3 Winners, Rep.of Ire Cup Semi-finalists
2000 Kildare League Div.2 Promoted
2001 Kildare League Div.1 Winners
2002 Kildare League Div.4 R-up, Rep.of Ire Cup Winners. LJL Div.3 Sat. R-up.
2003 Kildare League Div.3 R-up, Rep.of Ire Cup Winners, Kildare League Shield R-up, LFA Junior Shield R-up.
2004 Kildare League Promoted Premier Div. Premier Cup Semi Finalists
2005 Kildare League Senior Cup Winners

Previous Managers:
1991-96      Rory Keating
1996-98      Vinney McLoughlin.
1998-2001  Mick Donohue.
2001-02     Jim Keating.
2002-03      Adrien Harrigan
2003-04     Mick Curren
2004-05     Mark Conway


Leixlip Town Football Club, Leixlip, Co.Kildare, Ireland